Haircut to remember

The days are flying by here in Bangladesh, and for me that means one very important thing – I needed a haircut! The white man’s afro is rapidly approaching and I had turned to many for advice on where I should go. Among many suggestions on where to go I learned that a person’s head should not be touched by the opposite gender; therefore, men will cut men’s hair and women will cut women’s hair. Off to the recommended barber I went…

Upon arrival, the person from my office here in Dhaka introduced us and promptly left me in good hands (or so we thought). The haircut went well and the barber informed me I had a dry scalp, I said okay and he proceeded to spend the next hour working away. Having been here for a few weeks, I should have known that nothing was quick, but what I didn’t know was that my simple okay, was apparently a green light to provide as many services as human possible until I absolutely insisted that I needed to leave.

Once I was past the point of trying to accept that this must be a cultural thing with ones haircut; I informed them I really needed to be going. They swiftly finished up and informed me that my 100 Taka haircut ($1.30) had turned into 3000 Taka ($40.00). Angry and ready for a fist fight, I realized there were eight of them, one of me. I also noticed how quickly their English vocabulary vanished. Realizing I didn’t have many options other than causing a scene, I decided this $40 would be a learning experience and a wise investment in my healthy future.

Back at the office, I was complimented on my new cut. My reply was, “it is amazing how good you can look for a mere 3000 Taka.” Shocked, appalled, and ready for retaliation they wanted to march back and set things straight; I thought otherwise. I informed everyone that it is a learning experience and that I would have a hard time recommending them for future work; with a smile on my face. The news spread rapidly and they now have a running joke at the office that I’m the financier for the greater Dhaka area association of barber shops.

Lesson learned.

It’s my goal to get my next haircut here for 50 Taka or less; wish me luck!

Until tomorrow… -bag

Leave a comment